Look a bit closer

What do you see in this photo?

Look close, what can you see?

A couple of  hippos in a waterhole with heaps of rocks around them, right?

Look closer….

29.10.13 Serengeti (41)

There are a whole lot of hippos hiding in the waters!  Safe to say I stayed in the vehicle at this waterhole and felt no need to venture outside of my metal security blanket on wheels!

Sometimes I look at a situation and determine my actions without actually taking just a second longer to look at it more and see all the stuff I was missing.  Growing up in the country you get use to looking out into paddocks to see calves under trees, crows flying along ridges and a thin shaft of smoke from a new bushfire lit by summer storms.  But put me in Africa and I completely missed the massive herd of hippos right in front of me.  So while I was outside and looking into the landscape for movement, something I was comfortable and well adapt at doing, I completely missed the finer details!  This skill is something that I need to motivate myself to do more often than not- look at the detail and open my mind to the things I am not seeing.

Need a little pep in your step today – here is a little motivation music to kick start our Monday!

 

 

 

Leave a comment