Giving Blood – Bucket List TICK

stickerLast Monday I was sitting in front of computer and up pops an email asking for colleagues to pop over to the HR building as the Red Cross were there giving free blood type testing.   Sirens start to go off in my head and a big internal booming voice says to my conscious ‘NOW or NEVER ’.  You see, I have been gradually feeling more and more guilt that I have perfectly fine blood flowing through me and I just haven’t been brave enough to walk in the door to donate it.  It’s always been on my list of things to do and I promised myself that 2015 would be the actual year so I had to do it.

So I bravely got my colleague to walk over with me.  I should note that she was purely there for moral support as she goes pale just talking about needles let alone her actually lining up with me.  So now with an audience in tow, I have to do this.  They did the finger prick test and tell me I am blood type A, well there you go, learn something new every day hey!

I turn around and ask the nurse if I can book in for a blood donation and her eyes light up with a yes.  She looks way too excited…should I be worried!    Saturday at 9am is locked in.

Saturday comes around and as per the email that I received the day before I had a good breakfast and drank heaps of water.  As I arrived at the Red Cross building, the panic set in as about 5 years ago while gardening I tried to saw a branch off and my left pointer finger got in the way and so there was a bit of the runny red stuff flowing from me.  Upon seeing blood dripping from my hand I tried to faint but didn’t do a very good job of it and just went rather pale and got woozy and sat on a chair with my head between my legs and my hand in the air.    So I was a bit unsure how I would go with it all, but decided I needed to give it a go.  I can be a bit stubborn like that – if someone says you can’t do that, I tend to dig my toes in and do my best to achieve whatever it is.

So I did it, I walked in the door, filled out the form, answered some basic questions from nurse Raeleigh, got my blood pressure taken, another little finger prick to check my haemoglobin levels (I was 127 so all good)  and I was all set to go.  I got a little sticker to let everyone know I was a first timer so if they saw me starting to pass out they knew why.    Tracey was my nurse and was great, she was a real pro and doing the needle thing and I only felt a little nasty sting to start with an then all good.  Apparently I am a quick bleeder…oh joy!  It was all over within 8 minutes, which was too quick (had planned to use the free wifi to update a few apps).

blood bagNext thing I know I am looking over at a bag of blood next to me.  Ohhhh BAD decision, my stomach immediately does a complete cartwheel and I instantly feel queasy.  Tracey noticed the little beads of sweat appear on my forehead and asks if I am ok.  I say I was great until looking at my donation!  She smiles and tells me to rest for a minute and to watch the telly for a bit.  After a minute or so I was back on deck and wandered out to the tea area with a bandage on my arm.  I plonked down on a comfy couch in the recovery area slightly chuffed at myself for ticking ‘Give Blood’ off my bucket list.

Thanks biscuitAs I leave the receptionist rebooks me in for another donation in 12 weeks’ time.  Thanks Red Cross you do an amazing job and I am so thankful I can give blood to assist.

If you have never given blood and not sure if you are able to, then jump over to the Red Cross website to read all about it   www.donateblood.com.au

If I can do it, then I know you can too!

Leave a comment